The Freelance Life: How I Got Here

For me, freelancing was not just a way to earn a living. It was also about complete freedom. I have dreams and goals that do not fit in with what most would consider “normal”.

Until recently working from home and freelancing was just something people daydreamed about.

You either went to work or you did not.

In school, I was ingrained with the idea that I had to go to college and get a job.

Basically working was my purpose in life. I needed to find one thing that I wanted to do for the rest of life to make me happy.

The one thing that I knew was that I wanted to work for myself.

The thing was, for me that just was not the case. I wanted to help others, I loved art and creating things, I loved to cook, I loved to read and write. These things did not go together.

I needed to pick the one that I loved the most (or the one that was more profitable) and put the rest on the back burner. I ended up choosing cooking. I focused all of my attention on culinary.

I took every culinary class my school had to offer and volunteered in every cooking related event I could. I went to culinary school for one year and then I was burned out.

I had ran so hard towards the goal that I did not take the time to explore the other things around me.

There were so many interests that I had pushed away to focus on Culinary Arts.

After leaving Culinary School, I felt like I had nothing.

What was next?

Everything I had planned for was now gone.

The first thing I tried to do was an Etsy shop.

After a year or so my Etsy shop was doing okay, but I ended up in the position where I was burnt out. It took up so much of my time that I did not have time for anything else. After some troubles with the post office, I ended up closing my shop.

For the next two years, I worked traditional jobs.

During that time I started working for Fancy Hands, as a personal assistant.

I was an independent contractor and I could work whenever I wanted to so this worked out really well for me.

In 2015 I started working on and off with Mod Squad, also an independent contractor position. Then in 2016 I worked for a work from home call center, Sitel. I worked with them for a year until I ended up going back to Mod Squad.

I started freelancing on Fiverr soon after and focused on living a life that was not all about working.

In the Fall of 2016 I started The Smoothie Vegetarians, a blog and business focused around being a vegetarian and vegan.

I really enjoyed working with the blog and added other people into the mix. I loved the idea of helping other achieve their goals.

After awhile it got out that I had “mastered” the whole work from home thing.

People started asking me all types of questions about it.

I decided that I could start a blog about working from home and freelancing to pass on the knowledge I had gained to others interested in living the same type of life.

Along with this new blog, I am also launching my own personal assistant business. Not only will this give me the opportunity to spread my wings and get out there under my own name. I hope to hire other people who strive to work from home down the line.

Leave a Reply

